top 14 refurbished mac studios
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

Choosing among renewed Mac Studio desktops calls for more than comparing chip names: the listings here span a clearly identified renewed M1 Max model and two M5 Max listings whose descriptions do not confirm renewed condition. I rank the 2022 M1 Max Mac Studio as the clearest value-oriented renewed choice, the M5 Max with AppleCare+ as the strongest documented support package, and the M5 Max desktop as the performance-focused alternative. The main tradeoff is straightforward: older hardware has a specific configuration and renewed-condition details, while the newer listings promise much higher-end capabilities but provide less evidence about their condition as renewed products.

For listenersOffer from Amazon

Turn the school run and nap time into listening time

  • Thousands of audiobooks, podcasts and originals
  • Listen on your phone, tablet or Echo — also offline
  • Cancel anytime
Try Audible free Free trial for new members
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

My recommendations are based on the supplied listings, not hands-on testing. Before buying, check the seller’s condition grading, return terms, included accessories, and the installed macOS version. Those details matter especially for the M1 Max listing, which names macOS High Sierra despite describing a recent-generation Mac Studio. The two M5 Max listings also lack a clear renewed-condition statement, so buyers seeking a refurbished or renewed unit should verify that status rather than infer it from this roundup.

3
compared
2
brands
2
processors
Which renewed mac studio desktop should you buy?
★ Top Pick
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1
Best Clearly Identified Renewed Value
Explicitly labeled renewed, unlike the two M5 Max listings.
See on Amazon →
Professionals who want an M5 Max desktop with an explicitly stated three-year AppleCare+ package and can verify its condition and configuration.
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
M5 Max platform is specified for demanding creative and AI workflows.
View on Amazon →
Creative professionals who need the M5 Max platform and a clearly listed mix of Thunderbolt, USB, HDMI, SDXC, and wireless connectivity.
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu
Detailed port selection includes Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and SDXC.
View on Amazon →
Pros & cons at a glance
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1
✓ Explicitly labeled renewed, unlike the two M5 Max listings.
✗ The listed macOS High Sierra version is unexplained and should be verified.
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
✓ M5 Max platform is specified for demanding creative and AI workflows.
✗ The supplied description does not confirm that the unit is renewed.
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu
✓ Detailed port selection includes Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and SDXC.
✗ Renewed status is not confirmed in the supplied description.

Complete the kit

Momcozy Universal Stroller Organizer with Insulated Cup H...
Momcozy Universal Stroller Organizer with Insulated Cup H…
Add to your setup →
Stroller Organizer with Cup Holder, Non-Slip Stroller Cad...
Stroller Organizer with Cup Holder, Non-Slip Stroller Cad…
Add to your setup →
Accmor Universal Stroller Organizer with Insulated Cup Ho...
Accmor Universal Stroller Organizer with Insulated Cup Ho…
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The 2022 M1 Max is the only listing explicitly labeled renewed and specifies 32GB memory plus a 1TB SSD.
  • The M1 Max listing’s macOS High Sierra detail is a major point to verify before purchase because the description does not explain it.
  • The M5 Max with AppleCare+ lists three years of coverage, but its renewed condition is not established in the supplied details.
  • Both M5 Max listings specify Thunderbolt 5, Wi-Fi 7, and support for demanding creative or AI workloads; their configurations are less exact than the M1 Max listing.
  • Choose the M1 Max for a defined older configuration; choose an M5 Max only after confirming renewed status, memory, storage, and included coverage.
2
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop
Best Premium Pick for Documented Coverage
1
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1
Best Clearly Identified Renewed Value
3
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Compu
Best M5 Max Connectivity Choice

Our Top Renewed Mac Studio Desktops Picks

2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)Best Clearly Identified Renewed ValueProcessor: Apple M1 MaxCPU and GPU: 10-core CPU, 24-core GPUMemory: 32GBVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years)Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years)Best Premium Pick for Documented CoverageProcessor: M5 MaxMemory: Up to 128GB; included capacity not specifiedStorage: Up to 2x faster storage; included capacity not specifiedVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max ChipApple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max ChipBest M5 Max Connectivity ChoiceProcessor: M5 MaxMemory: Up to 128GB; included capacity not specifiedStorage bandwidth: 614GB/sVIEW ON AMAZONSee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
renewed mac studio desktopProcessorMemoryStorageWeight
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Apple M1 Max32GB1TB SSD5.9 pounds
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop M5 MaxUp to 128GB; included capacity not specifiedUp to 2x faster storage; included capacity not specified—
Apple Mac Studio Desktop CompuM5 MaxUp to 128GB; included capacity not specified—5.94 pounds

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. 2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)

    2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Max Chip, 10-Core CPU, 24-Core GPU, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Silver (Renewed)

    Best Clearly Identified Renewed Value

    View on Amazon

    This is the most straightforward fit for someone specifically searching for a renewed Mac Studio: the listing explicitly says renewed and gives a concrete configuration of M1 Max, 32GB RAM, and a 1TB SSD. That makes it easier to judge against a workload than the M5 Max entries, which name the chip family but leave memory and storage capacities open. The M1 Max configuration is aimed at creative work that benefits from substantial memory and local storage, without making the buyer guess which capacities are included.

    The supplied description says the unit was professionally inspected and tested and should have no visible cosmetic imperfections. It also warns that packaging may be generic and accessories may not be original. Those are normal areas to verify on a renewed purchase, but the bigger concern is the listed macOS High Sierra version. The product details do not explain that entry, so I would ask the seller to confirm the actual installed system and supported update path before ordering. The stated two USB ports and one HDMI port also look incomplete beside the M5 listings’ fuller port lists; confirm the physical configuration from the seller rather than relying on this abbreviated spec table.

    Compared with either M5 Max, this 2022 model is the more grounded pick for buyers who value a known RAM-and-SSD configuration and an explicit renewed label. It is not the choice for someone who needs the newest listed chip generation, Thunderbolt 5, or the M5 models’ stated Wi-Fi 7 and five-display support. The listing also says battery capacity exceeds 80%, a detail that seems unusual for a desktop and should not be treated as a meaningful Mac Studio advantage. I would focus on the computer’s actual condition, included power cable and accessories, warranty, and return policy.

    Pros:
    • Explicitly labeled renewed, unlike the two M5 Max listings.
    • Specific 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD configuration makes workload planning clearer.
    • Description reports professional inspection and no visible cosmetic imperfections.
    • M1 Max CPU and GPU configuration is positioned for demanding creative tasks.
    Cons:
    • The listed macOS High Sierra version is unexplained and should be verified.
    • Accessories may be generic or non-original, with limited inclusion details.
    • Listed port information is sparse compared with the M5 Max models.

    Best for: Buyers seeking an explicitly renewed Mac Studio with specified 32GB memory and 1TB storage for general creative and professional desktop work.

    Not ideal for: People who need the newest chip generation, confirmed Thunderbolt 5 connectivity, or a listing with unambiguous operating-system and port details.

    • Processor:Apple M1 Max
    • CPU and GPU:10-core CPU, 24-core GPU
    • Memory:32GB
    • Storage:1TB SSD
    • Operating system listed:macOS High Sierra; verify before purchase
    • Ports listed:2 USB ports, 1 HDMI port
    • Color:Silver
    • Weight:5.9 pounds
    Our verdict
    “I would choose this as the most clearly documented renewed option, provided the seller confirms the operating system, ports, and return coverage.”
  2. Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years)

    Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip and AppleCare+ (3 Years)

    Best Premium Pick for Documented Coverage

    View on Amazon

    For a buyer prioritizing the newest stated performance platform and a named support plan, this M5 Max listing is the premium pick. It specifies up to 128GB memory, storage bandwidth up to 614GB/s, four Thunderbolt 5 ports, and support for up to five external displays. Those capabilities are aimed at demanding work such as multi-display editing, high-throughput media handling, and compute-heavy creative or AI tasks. The listing also names three years of AppleCare+, giving it a support angle the other two products do not specify.

    That advantage comes with an important qualification: the supplied title and description do not identify this unit as renewed. If the search is strictly for a renewed Mac Studio, I would not assume it qualifies just because it appears beside a renewed product. Confirm condition, seller, coverage eligibility, and whether AppleCare+ is active and transferable before purchase. The configuration is also described with maximum capacities rather than a specific included memory and storage amount, which makes this a less certain comparison against the M1 Max’s stated 32GB and 1TB.

    Compared with the other M5 Max listing, this one is the better fit when the included AppleCare+ claim is central to the decision and the buyer can verify the details. The core chip and port story otherwise appears similar. Compared with the M1 Max, it offers newer-generation connectivity and a much higher stated memory ceiling, but the older renewed model gives clearer capacity and condition information. Its compact 7.7-inch-square enclosure is desk-friendly, though the integrated design leaves little room for later internal upgrades. I would skip it if the seller cannot state the actual configuration or confirm that the renewed-condition requirement is met.

    Pros:
    • M5 Max platform is specified for demanding creative and AI workflows.
    • Lists four Thunderbolt 5 ports and support for up to five external displays.
    • Names three years of AppleCare+ coverage.
    • Compact 7.7-inch-square design with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.
    Cons:
    • The supplied description does not confirm that the unit is renewed.
    • Actual included memory and storage capacities are not specified.
    • Integrated design limits internal upgrades and customization.

    Best for: Professionals who want an M5 Max desktop with an explicitly stated three-year AppleCare+ package and can verify its condition and configuration.

    Not ideal for: Strict renewed-only shoppers who cannot confirm refurbished status, or buyers who need exact included RAM and SSD capacities upfront.

    • Processor:M5 Max
    • Memory:Up to 128GB; included capacity not specified
    • Storage:Up to 2x faster storage; included capacity not specified
    • Storage bandwidth:Up to 614GB/s
    • Ports:4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
    • Wireless:Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6
    • Display support:Up to 5 external displays
    • Dimensions and coverage:7.7-inch square; AppleCare+ listed for 3 years
    Our verdict
    “I would shortlist this for premium M5 Max performance and named coverage only after verifying renewed status, exact configuration, and AppleCare+ terms.”
  3. Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip

    Apple Mac Studio Desktop Computer with M5 Max Chip

    Best M5 Max Connectivity Choice

    View on Amazon

    This M5 Max listing suits buyers whose work depends on modern ports and fast external-device access. It names four Thunderbolt 5 ports, two USB-C ports, two USB-A ports, HDMI, an SDXC card slot, and a headphone jack, alongside Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6. For a desk with fast external drives, cameras, displays, and wired accessories, that range can reduce adapter juggling. The description also cites 614GB/s storage bandwidth and up to 128GB memory, pointing toward demanding media and AI workflows.

    As with the AppleCare+ M5 Max, however, those are broad platform capabilities, not a precise description of the unit in the box. The supplied information does not say this desktop is renewed, and it does not specify the installed RAM or SSD capacity. Buyers comparing it with the renewed M1 Max therefore face a tradeoff: the M5 Max has newer listed connectivity and a higher memory ceiling, while the M1 Max provides a named 32GB/1TB configuration and an explicit renewed label. I would ask for the exact configuration and the seller’s condition and warranty details before treating this as a renewed purchase.

    Between the two M5 Max options, this model’s strongest documented point is its connectivity list; the other adds a stated three-year AppleCare+ package. If coverage matters more than having every capability listed here, the AppleCare+ entry may be the better match, subject to verification. This product description also gives a 5.94-pound weight and a compact square footprint, useful for planning desk placement. It does not resolve upgradeability, and the integrated format means buyers should choose enough memory and storage at purchase rather than count on later internal expansion.

    Pros:
    • Detailed port selection includes Thunderbolt 5, USB-A, USB-C, HDMI, and SDXC.
    • M5 Max is presented for demanding media and AI work.
    • Lists Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, and 614GB/s storage bandwidth.
    • Compact 7.7-inch-square design weighs 5.94 pounds.
    Cons:
    • Renewed status is not confirmed in the supplied description.
    • Included memory and storage capacities are unspecified.
    • No AppleCare+ term or other specific warranty coverage is listed.

    Best for: Creative professionals who need the M5 Max platform and a clearly listed mix of Thunderbolt, USB, HDMI, SDXC, and wireless connectivity.

    Not ideal for: Renewed-only shoppers who need confirmed condition, or anyone who needs the exact installed memory, SSD capacity, or included coverage stated.

    • Processor:M5 Max
    • Memory:Up to 128GB; included capacity not specified
    • Storage bandwidth:614GB/s
    • Ports:4 Thunderbolt 5, 2 USB-C, 2 USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, headphone jack
    • Wireless:Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6
    • Dimensions:7.7 inches square
    • Weight:5.94 pounds
    • Display support:Multiple external displays; exact number not specified
    Our verdict
    “I would pick this M5 Max listing for its documented port range, but only after confirming renewed condition and the actual RAM and SSD configuration.”
renewed mac studio desktops
What makes a great renewed mac studio desktop
1
Confirm that the unit is actually renewed
Only the M1 Max title explicitly identifies the computer as Renewed .
2
Match the chip and memory to the work
The M1 Max listing gives concrete processor details, 32GB RAM, and a 1TB SSD, making its configuration easier to assess.
3
Check ports against your desk setup
The M5 Max entries provide a detailed modern connection list: Thunderbolt 5, USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and a headphone jack, with
4
Treat software and coverage details as purchase checks
The M1 Max listing names macOS High Sierra , an unusual detail that the supplied information does not explain.
How to choose your renewed mac studio desktop
1
How we picked
I ranked these options around the needs implied by a search for renewed Mac Studio desktops : clear condition informatio
2
Confirm that the unit is actually renewed
Only the M1 Max title explicitly identifies the computer as Renewed .
3
Match the chip and memory to the work
The M1 Max listing gives concrete processor details, 32GB RAM, and a 1TB SSD, making its configuration easier to assess.
4
Check ports against your desk setup
The M5 Max entries provide a detailed modern connection list: Thunderbolt 5, USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and a headphone j
5
Treat software and coverage details as purchase checks
The M1 Max listing names macOS High Sierra , an unusual detail that the supplied information does not explain.
Vetted renewed mac studio desktops ·
The best renewed mac studio desktops, compared
★ Winner 2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1
Best Clearly Identified Renewed Value
3compared
2processors

How We Picked

I ranked these options around the needs implied by a search for renewed Mac Studio desktops: clear condition information, a useful configuration, connectivity, and the practical risks of buying a refurbished computer. The 2022 M1 Max earns the value-oriented role because it is explicitly identified as renewed and gives concrete RAM and SSD capacities. Its reported inspection and cosmetic condition are useful, but they do not replace checking the seller’s warranty, return window, battery wording, or operating-system details.

The two M5 Max products are ranked as premium performance candidates rather than confirmed renewed bargains. Their descriptions list a newer chip, extensive ports, and modern wireless features, but neither says that the unit is renewed or provides a specific memory and storage configuration. I give the AppleCare+ listing a distinct support-oriented role because it names three years of coverage. That promise should still be checked against the actual listing and eligibility terms. I do not treat broad claims such as faster storage or powerful AI processing as substitutes for a fully specified configuration.

Across the lineup, I weigh what is confirmed more heavily than what may be assumed. A compact enclosure and strong connectivity can suit desk-based production, but an integrated desktop offers limited internal upgrade options. I also flag specification conflicts or omissions instead of silently resolving them: the M1 listing’s High Sierra operating-system entry, the differing port details, and the M5 listings’ unspecified memory and storage all deserve buyer attention.

Feature comparison
renewed mac studio desktopProcessorDisplay support
2022 Apple Mac Studio with M1 Apple M1 Max—
Apple 2026 Mac Studio Desktop M5 MaxUp to 5 external displays
Apple Mac Studio Desktop CompuM5 MaxMultiple external displays; exact number not specified
Everyday → specialist
Everyday & valuePremium & specialist
Which renewed mac studio desktop fits you?
The everyday user
All-round, reliable
The enthusiast
Premium & high-performance
The gift-giver
Looks & craftsmanship

Factors to Consider When Choosing Renewed Mac Studio Desktops

For renewed Mac Studio shopping, I would compare the seller’s condition and included configuration before treating a newer chip label as a better deal. A reliable choice should fit the workload, connect to existing equipment, and come with clear return and coverage terms.

Confirm that the unit is actually renewed

Only the M1 Max title explicitly identifies the computer as Renewed. The two M5 Max descriptions do not establish renewed condition, so ask the seller directly whether the offered unit is new, renewed, or refurbished. Check who inspected it, whether cosmetic marks are permitted, what accessories are included, and how returns work. The M1 listing says it has been professionally inspected and tested, but also mentions generic packaging and possibly non-original accessories. Those details are useful signals, not a substitute for the seller’s written terms.

Match the chip and memory to the work

The M1 Max listing gives concrete processor details, 32GB RAM, and a 1TB SSD, making its configuration easier to assess. The M5 Max descriptions advertise up to 128GB memory and high storage bandwidth, but do not state the capacities in the specific units. For large projects, memory and storage can shape day-to-day work as much as the chip family. I would obtain the installed capacities before comparing the M5 models with the M1 Max. Buyers with routine office, browsing, and moderate creative tasks may not need to pay for capabilities intended for heavier production workloads.

Check ports against your desk setup

The M5 Max entries provide a detailed modern connection list: Thunderbolt 5, USB-C, USB-A, HDMI, SDXC, and a headphone jack, with Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6. That breadth may suit a workflow involving fast external storage, card-based media, and multiple displays. The M1 Max listing only names two USB ports and HDMI, so its port information appears less complete; confirm the actual hardware before relying on that abbreviated list. Also account for any adapters, display cables, storage devices, and input gear your setup requires.

Treat software and coverage details as purchase checks

The M1 Max listing names macOS High Sierra, an unusual detail that the supplied information does not explain. Ask what system is installed and confirm the machine can run the software you need. For the M5 Max with AppleCare+, verify that the three-year coverage applies to the specific unit and establish its start date and terms. The other M5 Max listing does not state a coverage period. For any renewed desktop, compare warranty support and the return window before committing, especially when the product description leaves configuration or condition questions open.

Choose a configuration you can keep

These Mac Studio models are compact integrated desktops, not easy-to-upgrade towers. The M5 Max listings mention memory up to 128GB, but that does not confirm the amount installed or imply that memory can be added later. The M1 Max’s 32GB and 1TB are stated for the listed unit, which helps set expectations. I would select enough memory and internal storage for the expected workload, then plan for external storage if the project library will grow. A lower initial configuration can become restrictive if core components cannot be expanded.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which of these listings is clearly identified as renewed?

The 2022 M1 Max title explicitly includes “Renewed,” and its description says the unit was professionally inspected and tested. The two M5 Max descriptions do not confirm renewed status. If you need a renewed desktop specifically, ask the seller to confirm the condition category and the terms that apply to that exact unit before ordering.

Is the M1 Max Mac Studio still a sensible choice?

It can suit buyers who want a specified 32GB RAM and 1TB SSD configuration and do not require the M5 Max models’ listed Thunderbolt 5 connectivity. Its renewed label and inspection details are helpful, but the macOS High Sierra entry is unexplained. I would verify the installed operating system, update support, ports, and seller coverage before deciding.

What separates the two M5 Max listings?

The first M5 Max listing names three years of AppleCare+, while the second gives a detailed port list and states the computer weighs 5.94 pounds. Both describe M5 Max capabilities but leave the unit’s exact memory and storage capacities unspecified, and neither confirms renewed status in the provided details. Choose based on the feature that matters more only after checking condition, configuration, and coverage with the seller.

Should I rely on the maximum memory figures in the M5 Max descriptions?

No. “Up to 128GB” describes a maximum capability in the supplied specifications, not necessarily the memory installed in the particular product listing. Ask for the exact RAM and SSD capacities before buying, especially because Mac Studio models have limited internal upgrade options. The M1 Max listing is clearer on this point because it specifies 32GB RAM and a 1TB SSD.

What should I verify before buying a renewed Mac Studio?

Confirm renewed condition, seller identity, cosmetic grading, included accessories, return eligibility, warranty coverage, and the computer’s exact memory and storage configuration. For the M1 Max, ask about the High Sierra operating-system entry and the port list. For either M5 Max, confirm the unit is actually renewed and clarify whether any AppleCare+ coverage applies. These checks help prevent assumptions based on platform-level features or incomplete listing details.

Conclusion

For buyers who want the clearest match for a renewed Mac Studio, I would start with the 2022 M1 Max because its renewed status, 32GB of memory, and 1TB SSD are specifically stated. That recommendation depends on getting a satisfactory answer about the listed macOS High Sierra version, the abbreviated port details, and the seller’s return and warranty terms. If your work needs a newer performance platform and a broad set of ports, the M5 Max listing without stated AppleCare+ is worth investigating—but only after its renewed condition and exact configuration are confirmed.

For professionals who put named support coverage first, the M5 Max with AppleCare+ is the strongest candidate on paper, provided the seller verifies that the coverage applies and that the unit meets your renewed requirement. For buyers who need exact capacities or cannot resolve condition questions, I would hold off on either M5 Max listing rather than assume the maximum specifications are included. The best choice here depends less on the chip label alone than on verified condition, installed configuration, and usable support terms.

Parenting content here is informational. For medical questions about your child, consult a pediatrician.
You May Also Like

15 Best Car Battery Tester Professional in 2026

Discover the top car battery testers for professionals in 2026. Find the best options for accuracy, ease of use, and value to keep your fleet reliable.

15 Best Mini Gaming PC RTX Options for 2026

Discover the top mini gaming PCs with RTX graphics for 2026. Find the best options for performance, value, and compact design in this comprehensive guide.

15 Best Premium Espresso Machines Gifts for 2026

Discover the top premium espresso machines gifts for 2026. Find the perfect gift with expert picks, from best overall to best for beginners and more.

12 Best Kids’ Back to School Backpacks in 2026

Discover the best kids’ backpacks for back to school in 2026. Find top picks for durability, style, and value to suit every child’s needs.